Well, Yoyo games released Gamemaker : Studio 2 a few years ago now, but I couldn’t update my licence at the time, so now I am facing the choice of either continuing with GMS 1.4 and all th exporters I already have but with no support anymore, or buying a brand new GMS 2 licence.

That choice made consider other alternatives, and I put some interest in the Godot Engine. It has Desktop, Android, HTML5 and iOS exporter and it is TOTALLY free. I heard about Godot by the time I started Gamemaker but I didn’t try it.

So I chose to have a look at that Godot engine, and it seems really cool so far. One big downside though is that I have to learn Godot’s scripting language as well as then engine workflow.

I’m not turning down GMS forever, but I don’t really feel like investing that much money right now as I have access to a free alternative.

My next project will then be learning, practicing and experimenting ones with Godot 3!